Character and Shared Item Transfers and FAQ
Players can once again transfer characters and shared items from one game world to another through the LOTRO game launcher. Please read further to learn more about the process, how it works, and what you should consider prior to transferring.
Transfers are possible from the following game worlds to other game worlds:
- U.S. game worlds to U.S. game worlds
- European game worlds to European game worlds
- The Legendary Worlds of Anor to Ithil, and from Ithil to Anor
Transfers are not currently avaiable from an older, closed game world to an active game world, although we intend to reintroduce those transfers in the future.
The cost to transfer a character or shared items is as follows:
- Character Transfer: 2495 LOTRO Points
- Shared Items Transfer: 495 LOTRO Points (free with a character transfer, only at the time of the character transfer)
- Character and Shared Items Transfer from Ithil to Anor: Free
Note that it is not possible to transfer from a U.S. Server to a European Server, or from a European Server to a U.S. Server. It is also not yet possible to transfer from the Legendary Worlds of Anor or Ithil to a non-Legendary game world.
Here is the process to complete the transfer:
Log into the game launcher using your user name and password. Select the Transfer button on the launcher.
Select the server to transfer your character or Shared Items from.
Select which characters to transfer and whether to transfer Shared Items.
Select which world you would like to transfer to.
Confirm your transfer.
Shared Items transfer allows for the transfer of account-level items that are shared between your characters on one world to another world. These items include the following:
Account Shared Currency (Mithril Coins and Skirmish Marks)
Frequently Asked Questions:
Is Shared Items Transfer free?
Shared Items transfer is available for free when you transfer a character from one world to another, at the time of the character transfer process. Players can also purchase a Shared Items transfer for 495 LOTRO Points.
What if I am the leader of my Kinship?
NOTE: KINSHIP LEADERS MUST ABANDON OR SELL THEIR KINSHIP HOUSES BEFORE THEY CAN TRANSFER.
When transferring a character who is a Kinship leader, the game will disband the Kinship on the home world, and reform the Kinship on the new world. If multiple Kinship members are planning to transfer, the Kinship leader should complete their transfer and log in to the new world first. The Kinship on the new world will retain its historical data. Players who were in the same kin will be instantly added to the Kinship on the new world if they decide to follow the Kinship leader.
Bound items in the Kinship house will be returned to their owners, and unbound items will be put into the kin leader's personal housing storage or escrow. Any remaining pre-paid credit and unlocked storage levels on the Kinship house will be automatically granted upon purchase of a new Kinship house on the new world.
How does naming work if someone already has the name on the world I am transferring to?
NOTE: NAME PRIORITY ON TRANSFERS IS NOT CURRENTLY FUNCTIONING. A PLAYER WHO TRANSFERS A CHARACTER WHERE A NAME IS ALREADY IN USE WILL ALWAYS BE RENAMED. THE CHARACTER CAN BE RENAMED ONE TIME ONLY BY USING /CHANGENAME (NEWNAME), BUT THAT NAME MUST ALSO NOT BE IN CONFLICT.
If there is a naming conflict, the transfer process will grant the name to to the incoming character only if the existing character on the world has not been active for more than one year. The less active character will have a -1 added to their name, and a rename token will be granted to the character. The character whose name has been changed can be renamed by the player by typing the following command into the game chat window: /changename <new name>.
Why can't I transfer from one regional server to another?
Existing characters on European and U.S. worlds have a data conflict when moving to a different region, so we are only able to support transfers of characters from an EU world to an EU world, or a U.S. world to a U.S. world.
What happens to my personal housing?
The belongings and history of the ownership of your house will go with your character to its new world. This means storage capacity, upkeep payments, ownership time, and remaining grace period time will all be applied to the house you purchase on your destination world. When you log into the new world with your home owner, you will find an in-game mail that informs you of your previous address along with an attachment of currency equal to the purchase cost of the house. All of your decorations will be placed in Escrow Housing Storage, and character bound items will be returned to their appropriate characters. If you already own a house on the destination world, your upkeep, storage capacity, and items will be granted to the existing house on the account.
What is your recommended transfer order?
To prevent confusion, we recommend that you transfer any Kinship leaders first, then home owners, then Shared Items, then other characters; or everyone at once if they are going to the same world.
What happened to my characters on older, closed game worlds?
Transfers from closed game worlds are not currently available. When we are able to return these transfers, we intend to make the process of transferring a character from a closed game world to an active game world free.
What will not transfer with me?
Mail does not transfer. Make sure to clear all items you wish to keep from your mail box prior to transferring.
If there is a paper item that used to be character-only (i.e. not account-shared), and the player has not logged in since the currency binding was changed, any amount they had banked will remain with their character, and will not be transferred until they transfer that character.
Housing storage from before 2014 will not be transferred if you have not logged into your character since then.
Can I transfer back to my former active game world?
While you can transfer characters back at any time, you must wait 2 weeks before you can successfully transfer shared items (shared bank and housing storage). Additionally, you cannot transfer a Kinship back to a game world. Attempting to do so will fail to reform the Kinship, and you will receive an item in your inventory that you can use to create a new Kinship of equivalent rank.
Do I need to log into a character before transferring it?
You do not need to, although it is recommended that you log into the character you wish to transfer, then log out of that character, prior to starting the transfer process through the game launcher. This ensures that your character is up to date, and can prevent failed transfers caused by attempting to transfer a character that has not been logged into in a very long time.
What if something goes wrong?
Please get in touch with Account Support through help.standingstonegames.com.